Rewind! The Cassette is Back.

good to know Cassette Tapes are not dead

Bandcamp Daily

Cassette tapes on bandcamp!

“The International Federation of the Phonographic Industry released their report of 2 million cassette tapes sold worldwide… Sales in the UK alone tripled last year.”


When I told my parents I was writing about cassette tapes they actually laughed at me. My dad is always very calm so his jokes tend to land hard: “I can go out to the garage and dig up your old Raffi tapes – you could write about that.” I admit it’s probably perplexing for hip baby boomer parents, who feel like it was just yesterday they bought you your first CD burner (remember those?). Growing up, I was either cherishing their beaten up vinyl collection or too busy spending their money on inkjet cartridges for custom CD-R labels to covet any real cassette tape collection. For me, tapes were just the lo-fi, unsexy middle period that I was born into. The cheap way to…

View original post 1,545 more words

About oorlab

musician, recording, studio, improvisation
This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

